skip to main content

Executive Updates

Executive Updates
from Dr. Byington

March 2019: Pettigrew Wins SEC Faculty Achievement Award


I am proud to share with you all that Roderic I. Pettigrew, PhD, MD, CEO of Engineering Health, executive dean for Engineering Medicine (EnMed), and Robert A. Welch Chair in chemistry has won the annual Southeastern Conference (SEC) Faculty Achievement Award for Texas A&M University.

Every year, the SEC selects one faculty member from each school in the conference to receive the SEC Faculty Achievement Award. The award recognizes professors with outstanding records in research and scholarship.

With a portfolio of international accomplishments in research and advancing biomedical innovation, Dr. Pettigrew is an elected member of both the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Engineering, and an elected member of the National Academy of Inventors. He joined Texas A&M University through the Governor’s University Research Initiative (GURI).

Dr. Pettigrew’s commitment to creating a new type of provider—a physicianeer—through the launch of EnMed, requires teaching innovation and underscores his excellence in teaching the next generation of health care providers.

This is a great honor for Dr. Pettigrew, and represents the caliber of excellence exhibited by our outstanding faculty members across all of the health sciences.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Pettigrew!

Thank you,
Carrie L. Byington, MD