skip to main content

Texas A&M Health in McAllen

Texas A&M Health in McAllen was established in 2000 and provides comprehensive, accessible health education programs and services to residents of the Lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas.

Since 2004, Texas A&M Health in McAllen has been housed in a 23,000-square-foot facility providing space for offices, classrooms and conference areas used to deliver a wide range of health education, training and public health programs with local partners. Currently, we house and are the point-of-contact for Healthy South Texas Programs for our designated four-county service area: Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr and Willacy. Those Programs include:

Community Outreach Programs

Programs and projects in public health held in South Texas are supported by the collaboration of community-based organizations, city and county offices, school districts, churches and organizations and businesses that share the common goal of improving the health of families living in the Rio Grande Valley. Staff with advanced degrees and/or certifications in health sciences and related fields, provide education with evidence based curricula designed to create awareness, introduce adoptable lifestyle changes, and implement interventions with successful outcomes.

Administrators

Rose L Lucio, MPH, CHWI
Director
Phone: 956.668.6314
lucio@tamu.edu

Julissa Rivera, MPA
Business Administrator II
Phone: 956.668.6304
julissa.rivera@tamu.edu

Healthy South Texas Programs

Contact us
Phone: 956.668.6300
Fax: 956.322.8349

Diabetes Education Program

Andrea Delgado, RDN, LD, CDCES
Dietician
delgado@tamu.edu

Anai Hernandez, BS
Program Coordinator II
anaihernandez@tamu.edu 

Ceilhy Garcia, BS
Program Specialist II
ceilhy.garcia@tamu.edu 

Maria Cantu, AAS, CHW
Program Assistant
mariacantu@tamu.edu

Irma Morales, BSPH
Program Assistant
irma.morales2756@tamu.edu 

Medication Assistance Program (MAP)

Nidia M. Guerra, BAT
Program Coordinator I
nmguerra@tamu.edu